Sign up for my newsletter to receive news and updates!

Never After: Thirteen Twists on Familiar Tales

Forget perfect princesses, handsome princes, and “happily ever after.” In this collection of thirteen flash-length fairy tale retellings, award-winning author Marie Brennan introduces you to a world of manipulative mirrors, treacherous pigs, and candy houses that will eat you right up. Each one is a subversive little gem, guaranteed to shock the Brothers Grimm.

This collection, the slightly cheerier but still twisted younger sibling to Monstrous Beauty, is available now!


Table of Contents

  • “The Mirror’s Tale”
  • “The Kindness of Sisters”
  • “Conversation with a Wolf”
  • “Gold”
  • “A Smile, a Laugh”
  • “Nesu-a”
  • “The Princess and the . . .”
  • “One Last Prize”
  • “The Fall of the Fortress of Brick”
  • “Many Faces”
  • “Every Moment, I Dream of Sleep”
  • “Just Right”
  • “And Everything Nice”
  • Afterword